Witley, April 24, 1917

Tuesday          Frost this morning but was a [sic] splendid fine & warm; no mail yet – finished a few repairs, its a clear night, teeth giving me trouble

Despite the contrast in the weather, this entry makes me think of W.H. Auden’s poem “Roman Wall Blues”:

Over the heather the wet wind blows
I’ve lice in my tunic and a cold in my nose.

The rain comes pattering out of the sky
I’m a Wall soldier; I don’t know why.

The mist sweeps over the hard grey stone
My girl’s in Tungria; I sleep alone…

Hadrian's wall  fog HW290F_252454545.jpg

This photograph of Hadrian’s Wall in the frost and mist of an early winter morning is by Roger Clegg, catalogue number HW290F from Northern Horizons Photography.

Copyright 2017. See “More about this project.”
Leave a Reply

